OCM Logo
Todayat the Museum

Featured Member July 2021

Interview with Meaghan Fitzgerald Walls


When did you join the Board of Directors? 2021 Any position you currently hold on the board/have held on the board: Governance Committee

What are you most proud of accomplishing during your time on the board? If you’re one of the newest members on the board, what do you hope to accomplish? I hope to use my network and experience to support the advancement of the OCM’s DEI efforts, resulting in a sense of belonging for any visitor.

Your hometown: Omaha, NE

What things interested you as a child? Books, puzzles, fishing, bugs, legos

What did you want to be when you grow up? When I was young I wanted to be a Veterinarian until I saw the autopsy of a calf on my grandparent’s farm.  I realized that I was not cut out for that kind of medicine.  However, I always remained interested in physiology, loved creating and building things and helping people.  It wasn’t until I was a teenager when I realized that I wanted to be some sort of engineer or innovator.

What was your first job? My very first job ever was walking soybeans for volunteer corn when I was around 12. Terrible work, truly awful.  As a young teenager I did a lot of babysitting and then when I was legally able to be hired I worked as a paraprofessional at Children’s Respite Care Center supporting children with special needs in their learning and play.

What do you do now? I am a rehabilitation engineer by education and training - meaning my career has focused on finding or creating innovative solutions for individuals with disabilities to remove barriers they are experiencing in the home, school, workplace or community. I started my company, Assistology, in 2017 to provide Assistive Technology, Rehab Engineering and Universal Design services to individuals and businesses. I provide training and consultation services to help individuals reach their goals and help businesses increase their ability to create inclusive spaces, services, products and practices.

Tell us about your family: My husband and I have been married for 9 years and are the parents of two amazing daughters, ages 4 and 7.  We are a very active family and love to explore all the outdoor areas in the region - biking, hiking, fishing, bird watching and everything in between.  We also enjoy movies, pizza and popcorn together as a Friday night tradition.

Share a memory you have of visiting Omaha Children’s Museum: I loved the partnership OCM had with Why Artz that brought the diversity puppet shows to the museum a couple of years back.  My daughters had so much fun taking a break from creating and playing to attend the events. They were such an engaging and kid-friendly way to have a conversation about ability and friendship to which parents and children could relate.

What are three words that best describe Omaha Children’s Museum: Innovative, Thoughtleaders, Collaborative